▶ Council Member of AACMD (2012-2015)     

  ▶ President : Dr. Jae-Kap Choi (Korea) 

  ▷ Immediate Past President : Dr. Ming-Lun Hsu (Taiwan)

  ▷ President-Elect : Dr. Kouichi Wajima (Japan)

  ▷ Vice President : Dr. Yunn-Jy Chen (Taiwan) 

  √ Secretary : Dr. Jin-Woo Chung (Korea)

  √ Treasurer : Dr. Mee-Eun Kim (Korea)

       Country Representatives 


    - Korea : Dr. Youn-Joong Kim


    - Japan : Dr. Hirofumi Yatani


    - Taiwan : Dr. Chih-Mong Tsai



 Section Committee  

 Academic Affairs 

 International Liaison  

 Membership Promotion  

  Korea:   Dr. Bong-Jik Suh

                Dr. Yang-Hyun Chun 

  Japan:    Dr. Yoshiki Imamura

                Dr. Masakazu Okubo

  Taiwan: Dr. Cheng-Yi Chen

                Dr. Chia-Shu Lin

  Korea:  Dr. Jong-Mo Ahn

               Dr. Hyung-Joon Ahn

  Japan:   Dr. Yoshihiro Tsukiyama

                Dr. Osamu Komiyama

  Taiwan: Dr. Chih-Ling Chang

                Dr. Hsien-Shu Lin

  Korea:  Dr. Yun-Heon Song

               Dr. Hyun-Dae Lim

  Japan:   Dr. Yoshizou Matsuka

                Dr. Kiyoshi Koyano

  Taiwan: Dr. Huey-Yuan Wang

                Dr. Kuang-Ta Yao



 History of AACMD, Congress & President, ICOT


    AACMD was founded by several dentists from Japan, Korea, Taiwan and Singapore who were specialized in TMD

   and orofacial pain in 1988.  As of now, we have 3 sister academies (Japan, Korea and Taiwan) in AACMD.  Three

   countries take turns to hold biennial meeting. The academy is in the middle of trying to have more sister academies.

   AACMD represents Asia in the field of TMD and Orofacial pain. It has the longest history and highest activity in Asia. 


 Congress Year

Host Country 

AACMD President 


1989,  1st

 Osaka, Japan

Shigemu Ishibashi (Japan) 


1990,  2nd

 Seoul, Korea

 Sung Woo Lee (Korea) 


1991,  3rd


Peter Tay (Singapore)


1992,  4th 

 Tokyo, Japan

 Yoshinori Kobayashi (Japan)


1993,  5th

 Taipei, Taiwan

 Yuh-Yuan Shiau (Taiwan)


1995,  6th

 Seoul, Korea

Kwang-Nam Kim (Korea)


1997,  7th

 Sendai, Japan

Takao Maruyama (Japan)


1999,  8th

 Taipei, Taiwan

Sun-Long Chou (Taiwan)


2001,  9th

 Busan, Korea

 Sung-Chang Chung (Korea)


2003, 10th

 Sendai, Japan

 Makoto Watanabe (Japan)


2005, 11th

 Taipei, Taiwan

Juo-Sung Wang (Taiwan)


2007, 12th

 Seoul, Korea

 Myung-Yun Ko (Korea)


2010, 13th

 Fukuoka, Japan

 Keiichi Sasaki (Japan)


2012, 14th

 Taipei, Taiwan

 Ming-Lun Hsu (Taiwan)


2015, 15th

 Daegu, Korea

 Jae-Kap Choi (Korea)



☞ International Congress of Orofacial Pain and Temporomandibular Disorders (ICOT)

    Five sister academies from North America, Europe, Asia, Australia and South America take turns to hold international meeting every 4 years. The first ICOT Meeting was held in Chicago, USA in 1992. The second meeting was in Paris,     France hosted by European Academy, the third was in Seoul, Korea by AACMD, the fourth was in Sydney, Australia and fifth meeting was in Salvador, Brazil. AAOP started the second round of ICOT in Las Vegas in 2014. AACMD, Asian academy, is supposed to hold ICOT in 2022 somewhere in Asia.


Contact us                * E-mail : aacmd2015@nate.com             * Fax : 82-2-744-9135